Michèle Sylvander on Caszuidas screen, Amsterdam.

As part of the “VIDEO GUIDE – Marseilles” screening series on CASZUIDAS screen – Moving Images in Public Space – in Amsterdam, Netherlands, Videospread is pleased to present Michèle Sylvander’s solo show “Sleepless”. The programme will be launched in July 2009 and screened for one year.

Profession: Artist
Gender: Female

Over one hundred years and the determination of many women were necessary to break the bonds that tied female artists to their social status of being Women: excluded from Fine Arts training, from signing contracts with gallery owners without their husband’s consent… A handful of women lead the way and fought to obtain an identical and equal status as men’s, in a field that had long been a masculinist territory.

The networks and groups of women artists, authors, gallery owners, patrons… that arose in Paris in the pre, in-between and post-war years, were not so much associations or partnerships based on the sharing of professional, sexual, social or cultural values, standards or interests, but rather a community which allowed others to act knowing that they were part of a shared reality.

Marie Laurencin, Tamara de Lempicka, Sonia Delaunay, Iris Clert, Niki de Saint Phalle, Annette Messager and Louise Bourgeois – to state only a few – have in turn asserted themselves in a professional context which was for long, ruled by the only will of men. They have, by their achievements, allowed other women to overstep purely formal issues, to take part in the reflection and construction of the global Art theory.

Michèle Sylvander’s programme – Sleepless – is the sixth of a series of seven solo shows dedicated to contemporary women artists who have chosen Art as a field for research, expression and personal development.

Michèle Sylvander
Sleepless

– Text by Guillaume Mansart –

Michèle Sylvander’s body of work is oriented essentially towards photography but has a complementary development in installations, drawings and video. Her work generally questions genre, sexual norms, political and/or social body and relations to others… The use of self-portrait and family life is central in her work, and through this use she attests of the degree of universality contained in the intimacy of personal experience, and furthermore, of the stage for social recognition – the « self » as part of the family unit corresponding to a metonymy of the « self » as part of the larger world.

Sylvander’s figure can be interpreted as a recurrent form in her photographs and videos, a multiplicated face, a serial body, divided, often hidden behind multiple transparencies. The use of the veil – metaphorical or real – repeats the interest in the tenuous borders between what is hidden and what is left to be seen. « My images are part of the “undefined”, the sex and the rest, the artist explains. What interests me is the surface of things », the skin, the screen, the clothing, the mask, the burqa, all that has the capacity to captivate and on which you can project. All that reveals and veils – or negates – in a same process.
Sylvander’s position is neither militant, nor proclaiming. Nonetheless, she does declare there is a power over the body’s surface and it is deep down that wounds are carved and resistance appears.

Michèle Sylvander works at the junction of being and appearing. The intimate is a battlefield which she handles with caution, and rather than intimacy, it is more about « extimacy » – the need to exteriorize an internal « self » in order to open a dialogue and start an exchange.

Mixing elements from her own life with strange and frightening spectacles deriving from a dreamlike imagination, she is able to build an ambiguous and multi-levelled creation. Her works are the materialization of all the possibilities of one’s « self », of all the potential spaces for real or fictitious characters, wandering one beside another towards the spectator to interrogate the never-ending stories of each and one of us.

Michèle Sylvander sur l’écran géant Caszuidas, Amsterdam.

Dans le cadre du cycle « VIDEO GUIDE – Marseilles » – diffusions sur l’écran Caszuidas à Amsterdam, Hollande – Videospread a le plaisir de présenter à partir du mois de juillet 2009 et pendant un an, l’exposition personnelle de Michèle Sylvander «Sleepless».

 

Profession : Artiste
Genre : Femme
Il aura fallu plus d’un siècle et la persévérance de nombreuses femmes pour briser l’enfermement dans lequel se trouvaient les artistes de sexe féminin (exclues alors de l’enseignement des Beaux-Arts, ayant interdiction de signer un contrat avec une galerie sans l’accord de leur mari…), et pour tracer la voie qui est celle qu’empruntent les femmes artistes aujourd’hui. Voie, qui leur assure un statut d’égalité dans une pratique qui a longtemps été l’apanage des hommes.
Les réseaux féminins d’artistes, écrivains, galeristes, mécènes… qui se forment à Paris avant, entre-deux et après guerre ne sont pas tant des réseaux de solidarité professionnelle, sexuelle, sociale ou culturelle entre femmes, mais davantage une communauté qui permettra à d’autres femmes d’agir en sachant qu’elles sont partie intégrante d’une réalité partagée.
Marie Laurencin, Tamara de Lempicka, Sonia Delaunay, Iris Clert, Niki de Saint Phalle, Annette Messager ou Louise Bourgeois, pour ne citer qu’une infime partie d’entres elles, ont tour à tour trouvé leur place dans un monde artistique longtemps contrôlé par les hommes, et ont permis à d’autres femmes artistes de se projeter au delà de préoccupations purement formelles pour participer à la construction d’une théorie globale sur l’évolution de l’art.
Le programme de Michèle Sylvander – Sleepless – est le sixième d’une série de sept expositions personnelles dédiée au travail d’artistes femmes contemporaines, ayant choisi le champ de l’art comme terrain de recherche, lieu d’expression et de développement.

Michèle Sylvander
Sleepless

 

– Texte de Guillaume Mansart –

 

Michèle Sylvander développe un travail artistique qui s’appuie principalement sur la photographie mais déploie également ses formes dans l’installation, le dessin ou la vidéo… Ses œuvres problématisent la question du genre, des codes sexuels, du corps politique, social, du rapport à l’autre… L’autoportrait et la vie de famille y occupent une place centrale ; à travers eux, l’artiste affirme le point de vue suivant lequel la proximité de l’expérience personnelle contient une certaine forme d’universalité. Ils disent aussi qu’il y a là le nœud de la construction sociale (le « moi » dans le petit jeu de la cellule familiale comme métonymie du « moi » sur la grande scène du monde).

Le visage de Michèle Sylvander se lit alors comme une récurrence sur ses photographies ou dans ses vidéos, un visage démultiplié, un corps sériel, morcelé, souvent caché derrière toutes sortes de transparences. L’usage du voile (métaphorique ou réel) réitère l’intérêt pour cette frontière ténue entre ce qui est caché et ce qui se livre au regard. « Mes images sont du côté de l’indéfinition, dit-elle, celle du sexe et du reste. Seule la surface des choses m’intéresse ». La peau, l’écran, le vêtement, le masque, la burka; tout ce qui retient et sur quoi on projette. Tout ce qui révèle une identité et la voile (ou la nie) en un même mouvement.
La posture de Michèle Sylvander n’est pas militante ou revendicatrice, elle dit néanmoins qu’il y a un pouvoir qui s’exerce sur la surface du corps et que c’est en profondeur que se gravent les blessures et se jouent les résistances.

C’est à une intersection que travaille l’artiste, sur cette limite de l’être et du paraître. L’intime est un champ de bataille qu’elle convoque avec retenue. Plus que d’intimité, c’est d’ailleurs sans doute d’ « extimité » dont il est question dans cette œuvre, de ce besoin d’extérioriser un « moi intérieur » afin de mettre en place un échange, d’ouvrir un dialogue.

Mêlant des éléments de sa biographie personnelle et des mises en scène étranges et inquiétantes relevant d’un imaginaire onirique, elle construit les multiples niveaux d’un univers ambigu. Ses œuvres sont autant de « je » possibles, autant d’espaces pour des personnages fictifs ou réels, qui déambulent les uns à côté des autres vers le spectateur, en vue d’interroger ensemble la somme sans fin des histoires de vies de chacun.