VIDEO GUIDE Marseilles – Part X

As part of the “VIDEO GUIDE – Marseilles” screening series on CASZUIDAS screen – Moving Images in Public Space – in Amsterdam, Netherlands, Videospread is pleased to present “Irony” a group show by Galerie Porte Avion*. The programme will be launched in November 2009 and screened for one year.

 

Irony
-Text by Jean-Jacques Le Berre-

Beyond technical aspects and philosophical content, the videos presented in this programme have the particularity of never setting-up a character, of using a bold treatment of image in order to suggest rather than impose, of revealing the impalpable presence of their creators and of showing a hypnotic and destabilizing approach enhanced by the simplicity and exactitude used in the modes of production.

These three propositions –John Deneuve, Laurent Le Forban, Wilson Trouvé- are extremely different in their treatment, however, complementary in the way they formalize our mechanisms of perception.
Curator: Jean-Jacques Le Berre
* Founded in 1988, Porte Avion gallery is the first alternative gallery to operate in Marseilles. Promoting emerging local artists meanwhile collaborating with established international artists is part of the gallery’s long-term action. It regularly takes part in International Art Fairs: Salon du Dessin, Paris, FR – Slick, Paris, FR; collaborates with institutions: FRAC, FR – C.I.R.V.A, FR; publishers: Al Dante, Transbordeurs; and other private galleries as partner for solo exhibitions: La Bank, Laurent Godin.

Porte Avion Gallery has published many works. Latest edition: Oups! Sylvain Ciavaldini’s personal catalogue, co-published with La BANK gallery, Paris, FR.

VIDEO GUIDE Marseilles – Part X

Dans le cadre du cycle « VIDEO GUIDE – Marseilles » – diffusions sur l’écran Caszuidas à Amsterdam, Hollande – et pour clore cette année 2009, Videospread a le plaisir de présenter à partir du mois de novembre et pendant un an, l’exposition de groupe proposée par la Galerie Porte Avion* «Irony».

 

Irony

– Texte de Jean-Jacques Le Berre –

 

Les vidéos présentées dans le cadre de cette programmation ont la particularité, au delà de la réalisation technique et de leur contenu philosophique, de ne mettre en scène aucun personnage, un traitement désincarné donc pour une utilisation suggestive de l’image, révélant malgré tout la présence impalpable de leur  « créateur », une approche hypnotique et déstabilisante, renforcée par la rigueur et la simplicité de la production.

 

Trois propositions donc – John Deneuve, Laurent Le Forban et Wilson Trouvé – extrêmement différentes dans leur traitement, mais complémentaires dans la formalisation du questionnement des mécanismes de la perception.

 

Commissariat : Jean-Jacques Le Berre

* Crée en 1988, la Galerie Porte Avion est la plus ancienne galerie alternative marseillaise. Défendant la jeune création régionale tout en collaborant avec des artistes de renommée internationale, la Galerie porte Avion inscrit son action dans la durée et diversifie ses activités en participant régulièrement aux foires d’Art Contemporain ( Salon du Dessin, Slick…) et en collaborant avec des structures institutionnelles, ( FRAC, C.I.R.V.A ….) des éditeurs, (Al Dante, Transbordeurs ….) ainsi que des galeries privées ( la BANK,  Laurent Godin …) dans le cadre d’expositions monographiques.

La Galerie Porte Avion développe également une activité éditoriale, dernier ouvrage paru : Oups ! catalogue monographique de Sylvain Ciavaldini, co-édition avec La BANK galerie.