VIDEO GUIDE Marseilles – Part XII

For the second consecutive year, Videospread is content provider for Caszuidas Giant outdoor Screen in Amsterdam, The Netherlands. Having started the year with a solo show, Videospread will launch in April its new programme, born form a collaboration with the Fonds Régional d’Art Contemporain* (FRAC) Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur, Marseilles, France.

 

For the first time, Videospread will screen a programme made from videos of the FRAC Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur collection. This programme highlights the diversity and abundance of the FRAC’s collection, all the while showing the process and risk taken by this organization in buying video art in the early 80’s. Are showcased the works of Hugues Reip : Nerf, 1996, All, 1997 and Takehito Koganezawa, One Minute, 1999, Untitled, 2000.

 

Hugues Reip
Among different mediums, Hugues Reip utilizes video to translate a certain connection to the world, by use of shift, displacement and change in scale. Thus, he is able to create improbable and poetic images. The artist particularly appreciates small objects and is particularly attentive to « little events that produce nothing ». He is able to develop an ever-moving body of work, taking root in a shared reality: an unchanging everyday life, a dull environment, highlighting their unusual, contradictory, strange or fictive aspects.

 

Takehito Koganezawa
Videos from Japanese artist Takehito Koganezawa find their origin in performance, in which the artist himself is an actor and participant. Always founded on simple actions inspired by everyday life, his videos underline – with humour and absurdity – the connections between men and things, space and time, images and their interpretations. He reorganizes them, changing the fundamentals of the video, its narrative structure by an ingenious manipulation of its technical components. It is by a process of repetition that these simple and direct sequences become complex and humorous.

 

* The Fonds régional d’art contemporain is supported by Région Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur and the Ministry of culture and communication – Direction régionale des affaires culturelles Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur. It is a member of platform, groupement of the Fonds régionaux d’art contemporain and founding member of

VIDEO GUIDE Marseilles – Part XII

Pour la deuxième année consécutive, Videospread est fournisseur de contenus pour l’Ecran géant Caszuidas à Amsterdam en Hollande. Bouclant une exposition personnelle de Pippo Lionni, elle amorce un nouveau cycle de diffusion en Avril autour d’un projet collaboratif avec le Fonds Régional d’Art Contemporain* Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur.

 

La programmation que Videospread met en place dans l’espace de la ville d’Amsterdam sera pour la première fois conçue à partir d’œuvres vidéo de la collection du FRAC Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur. Ce programme met en avant la richesse et la diversité de la collection du FRAC, tout en soulignant la démarche avant-gardiste dans la prise de risque d’achat d’art vidéo à partir des années ’80. Ont été séléctionnées les œuvres de Hugues Reip : Nerf, 1996, All, 1997 et de Takehito Koganezawa, One Minute, 1999, Untitled, 2000.

Hugues Reip

Hugues Reip utilise entre autres supports la vidéo dans le but de traduire un rapport au monde qui opère par déplacement, décalage et changement d’échelle. Il parvient ainsi à créer des images insolites et poétiques. L’artiste affectionne particulièrement les objets légers et ne prête attention qu’aux « petits événements qui ne génèrent rien ». Il développe ainsi une œuvre nomade, ancrée dans une réalité amplement partagée : celle d’un quotidien sans histoire, d’un environnement sans qualité particulière dont il retient pourtant les aspects insolites, contradictoires, flottants ou fictifs.

 
Takehito Koganezawa

Les vidéos de l’artiste japonais Takehito Koganezawa trouvent leur origine dans des performances où l’artiste est lui-même acteur/participant. Toujours fondées sur des actions simples inspirées du quotidien, ses œuvres vidéo s’intéressent, sur le mode de l’absurde, aux liens entre les hommes et les choses, l’espace et le temps, l’image et sa lecture ; liens qu’il désarticule en s’attaquant à la « chair » même de la vidéo, à sa structure narrative, par une manipulation ingénieuse de ses composantes techniques. C’est en faisant agir un processus répétitif que ces séquences simples et directes prennent une dimension ludique et complexe.

*Le Fonds régional d’art contemporain est financé par la Région Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur et le ministère de la Culture et de la communication — Direction régionale des affaires culturelles Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur. Il est membre de platform, regroupement des Fonds régionaux d’art contemporain et membre fondateur du réseau Marseille Expos.